aches & pains, aging, bosses, difficult people, exercise, expectations, family, family humor, holidays, Humor, job, job security, Life, life lessons, memories, mornings, routines, Ruff, stress, work

“Twas the month before Christmas”

“Twas the month before Christmas”

ruff 122015 a

 Twas the month before Christmas and all through the Post Office
                                             ruff 122015 b

We scurried like chickens with our heads chopped off us

The schedule was posted by the time clock with care

ruff 122015c                           ruff122015 d

In hopes that by nightfall we all would be there

The day’s service talk turned into a clatter

ruff 122015 e

As they calmly explained just what was the matter

ruff 122015 f

“You can’t start till 8, but be back by 6…
Things aren’t going smoothly but we’ll find a fix”

ruff 122015 t

“Too many scans missing, too much time you took…

meanwhile our phone’s ringing off of the hook”

ruff 122015 h

  ‘My mail’s still delivered  though I’m on vacation!’

ruff 122015 i

‘Why can’t you find my parcel’s location?’

“How do I explain above all the screams

ruff 122015 g

The fault isn’t mine, just blame the machines!”

ruff122015 l

By this time my mind had begun to tune out

ruff 122015 l

                                                “I’ve got my own problems!” I wanted to shout

So much mail to case…      

ruff 122015 m

and parcels galore
     ruff 122015 w

      My mind hollered,  “Stop I can’t take any more!”

All the long hours  left me feeling my age

ruff122015 o

 (about 85… on my really good days)

 

    While over & over  I heard in my head…

ruff122015 p

“Get up, go to work, come home, go to bed.”

I felt a relief when I reached Christmas Eve

ruff 122015 q

And I went to bed early, enjoying the reprieve

ruff 122015 u

So frazzled I couldn’t remember my name…

                    ruff 122015 v

But a wonderful Christmas it was just the same

Point to Ponder:

Few of us escape the hassles of the holidays. Extra work, extra activities, extra expectations on ourselves & others. Before you enter situations where you know you will be interacting with others, pause to pray. Ask God to help you be his gracious representative in a frazzled world. Then eagerly await opportunities to be a blessing!

Blessings,

Ruff

ruff102015aa

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment